Giro Feature Mountainbike Helmet 2016

20151120_125307

I’ll start off by admitting that I like Giro helmets. After trying various other marques over the many years I’ve been cycling I’ve yet to find a more comfortable fit for my head than Giro. With that in mind, I’d stress that anyone looking to buy a helmet – consider reviews all the way upto trying a helmet on. If it’s a great fit, then buy it. If not, even if it’s 10/10 in every review you read – walk away and find one that is comfortable.

I’ve now done four rides wearing the Giro Feature. Two in the Peaks and two in North Wales. I’ve had a mix of weather from riding in a storm where it would only be possible to get wetter by jumping in a river, strong winds which blew the bike off track and one day where despite sodden trails it was reasonably warm and dry. A good mix of conditions to get a feel for the Feature.

Price It’s mid price range, so a very reasonable price with an RRP of £69.99 I was sceptical about breathability at this price (and looking at not too many vents on the helmet).

Fit As mentioned, try a few brands on at the same time to see which helmet suits your head shape. If the Feature feels good, then once on your head it’s an easy one hand adjustment for tightness with a disk to tighten/loosen at the back of the helmet.

Looks I quite like the looks. The back of the helmet comes further down than my previous mountainbike lids. On the one hand this will offer more protection, but on the other I wondered whether this (along with not too many vents) may make the helmet hot to use.

In use In Wales (Llandegla and Coed Y Brenin trails) you are moving from forest single track to fire roads, so light is never constant. I lifted the visor up so I’d have maximum field of vision and on both days never gave the helmet a second though – so all was good.

In the Peaks, I had one very wet, windy ride. Visor in ‘normal’ position as light was constant and again, no issues other than the strong wind trying to blow the helmet off my head!

More recently I did a local circuit where I decided I would  ride with no stops. Not a large ride, but (with hindsight) a great test for the Giro Feature. The route is 18.1 miles with 2,000 feet of climbing. Conditions were dry and reasonably warm, although terrain was soaking from constant rain and Storm Desmond, so a nice technical challenge in places. There is one section where you climb 700 feet in 2.5 miles. It’s a constant climb with no rest. Not in your face, but steady, quite steep in places and always awkward terrain so hard work. Stats at the end of the ride showed an average speed of 9.6 mph over the 18.1 miles and a moving time only 2.5 minutes less than total activity time which was the time it took to open and close gates. The helmet coped well and whilst I did sweat (to be expected) it wasn’t too much and didn’t affect my glasses (sweat beads or overheating) which was pleasing. It performed better than I had expected it would and confirmed that the number of vents were sufficient and the back of the helmet offering more protection was not at the expense of cooling.

Conclusion… I’m impressed with the Giro Feature helmet. I was intially sceptical about the venting and the back of the helmet, but in use neither were an issue. Fit is very good with no rubbing at all. The chassis/ pads and rotary dial tightening system all work well to keep air flowing and afford simple one handed adjustment. The visor has enough adjustment to be pushed up out of the way for darker trails and the helmet cost hits a competitive price point given it’s ‘features’ (see what I did there). It looks pretty good too in my opinion. Whilst we were in Wales a couple of mates asked about the Giro Feature and tried it on. Both were impressed. One has gone on to buy one straight away and the other is looking at replacing his twice as expensive Kask helmet with a Giro Feature as the Kask is not as comfy.

One thought on “Giro Feature Mountainbike Helmet 2016”

Leave a comment