Continental GRANDSPORT Race Tyres

HighPeak Cycles have asked me to test and review a pair of Continental Grandsport Race tyres (25’s). I have a couple of Cannodale roadbikes and have switched them both from the OE Schwalbe Lugano (25’s).

The Continental tyres have been supplied by Rob Scullion of Cambrian Tyres – so a big thanks to Rob for the opportunity to test and review the Grandsports.

I run Schwalbe Durano Plus (Smartguard) tyres on my Synapse Disc commute bike and Continental GP4000II on my Synapse Carbon ‘summer’ bike. Both are 25’s. The GP’s are a cracking tyre and my favourite by a country mile, so I’m hoping the Grandsport Race live up to my GP experience. I’m not expecting them to be as good as they do not have the grip/ sticky compound and are aimed at a more general road/ commute/ club riding market, but that spec should sit well on my Synapse disk.

The Conti tyres were supplied as ‘folding’ tyres and fitted easily in minutes with no issues. My first ride will be tomorrow (12/7/16) and I’ll update the review once I have covered enough miles to form a constructive opinion.

Out with the old (Schwalbe Durano Plus)

20160711_100154

And in with the new (Continental Grandsport Race).

20160711_134535

Update Monday 1/8/16.

I’ve been running the Grandsports for three weeks now. I’ve covered 373 miles on them in varying conditions from perfect warm, dry rides to awful torrential rain. Road surfaces have been poor (newly ‘dressed’ stone chippings) to ok. The tyres roll well and feel quick (which has shown with Strava segments) and have had plenty of grip. There have been no punctures, but I’ve kept the tyres topped up to 95psi which I’ve checked twice a week and at present I’m still riding in daylight (so can see road debris) other than my first 30 minutes at 4.30am.

Initial thoughts are that the tyre is very impressive. I’ll keep an eye on wear as it’s too early to comment on that just yet – but they grip well and do inspire confidence so I’m very happy with them compared to the other tyres I’ve used.So far I’m happy using them for commuting and general riding.

 

 

 

Leave a comment