Jagwire Pro Shift Cable.

The cable routing on my Canondale Synapse Carbon 105 is internal. Whilst that makes it great to look at, it introduces issues. The OE cable used is ok, but the coating it has starts to quickly gather. High Peak Cycles have diligently looked after the bike tweaking the gearing when I’ve had shifting issues. I took the bike in a few weeks ago, just before we got our late November rain and we decided to change the cables.

20151119_160548

When we took the old cable out, you could see where the coating had gathered and was stopping clean cable movement – which would delay gear changes. To stop this happening again, rather than fit similar cables we used Jagwire Pro Shift Cable. Cost wise it’s an insignificant increase over cheap cables, but hopefully it will ensure clean shifting without the need for intermittent fettling. If that is the case then it’s a no brainer – and especially with internally routed cables.

As we have the expected bad weather I’ve not had chance to run the Canondale and test the gearing out for any length of time. I’m using my Fondriest winter/hack bike. Once I get the opportunity to get a few dry rides on the Canondale I’ll update the blog and maintain that with feedback over a few months to provide a worthwhile comparison/ review.

 

Update Tuesday 5/1/2016.

I’ve now ridden a couple of good routes on the Cannondale (43 mls, 3500 ft climbs / 36 mls, 3150 ft climbs) and am reluctantly using it to commute to work this week (75 mls / 3 days) as I’ve killed my Fondriest winter hack bike.

I resisted adding to the review after just one ride as you expect new cables to feel good when just fitted. The rides I’ve done have seen good use of the gears given the climbing involved and to date (during my cold, dark and very wet commutes) the gear changing has been slick and positive. No issues at all. High Peak Cycles assured me this would be the case and so far so good. Very pleased and will update again in a month or two.

 

 

One thought on “Jagwire Pro Shift Cable.”

Leave a comment