Mondraker Dune RR

Mondraker Dune RR

Over the last year I’ve been using my roadbike and fell running. I started to get an itch to introduce some mountainbiking so dusted off my Intense Tracer. In it’s day the Intense was a peerless bike, but it’s day was several years ago. By coincidence Jamie at High Peak Cycles had a Mondraker Dune RR in the shop. He had intended to ride it himself, but just never found the time. The Dune RR is ‘Enduro’ spec which is perfect for riding in the Peaks.  I took the Mondraker on an ‘extended demo ride’, telling Jamie (as I always do) that I wasn’t really wanting to buy a new bike, it was a bit too expensive, I’d be wasting his time, maybe in a few months …

So, I bought the bike. Yes, I’m weak.

Initial observations on the Mondraker.

Quickly setting the bike up I was impressed with the spec. I couldn’t see anything I would need to add to the bike. That should be the case with the RRP of this bike just under four grand, but even so it’s comforting to know that there will be no need to feel the need for ‘upgrades’ as it’s all there right down to comfy lock on grips. Spec gives front and rear Fox, dropper seatpost and decent brakes and drivetrain.  Quality set of Easton 27.5” (650b) wheels and Mavic tyres. I was sceptical about the 800mm wide Raceface bars and the ‘forward geometry’ frame (there is literally no stem) but looked forward to seeing how it performed.

Seat post set and everything else felt ok. Jamie had set the bike up for him and as I’m a similar build (and mountainbikes don’t need the same precision as roadbikes) I decided to see how we went. Only thing we did was quickly alter the suspension settings to suit me as I sat on the bike.

First rides

I did a couple of Peaks rides I know well. Good local rides with a nice mix of terrain and some challenging climbs. This would give me a good idea on whether I would get on with the Mondraker.

On anything flat ‘ish’ the Mondraker is a very plush, comfortable bike to ride. For me it comes into it’s own when climbing. I’m sure the 27.5” (650b) wheels play a part in that (compared to the 26” wheels I was used to on the Intense) and the fox suspension, but a major factor has to be the ‘forward geometry’ frame set up which ensures your weight is over the front wheel. It keeps traction with the front, but also means input from the wide 800mm bars is immediate. This translates to being able to keep weight on the back wheel (for traction) without having to move around the bike much. In turn, climbing is easier as the Mondraker rides over ruts, rocks and obstacles with no fuss and without the need for any out of the saddle heroics. Less effort = Not as knackered, which is always a good thing.

 

Riding downhill the Mondraker is far quicker than me. I run out of talent a long time before the bike runs out of speed! That said, quick press of the button to drop the seatpost  (is the dropper post the best inventionever or what?!) and we are away. The comedy 800mm wide bars show they are practical as they come into their own on fast twisting singletrack and ruts where you are changing direction quickly. Watch out for narrow bridges though as I’ve found a couple that must literally be 795mm wide leading to comedy moments trying to ride across! The ride downhill is still plush. Brakes feel good and a quick squeeze will lock the rear as and when you want. No fade or pump on the rides I’ve done since (more Peaks rides and a couple in North Wales).

Each ride I’ve gone done I’ve got quicker as I’ve gelled more with the bike. I’m trying to get out on it once a week. To give you an idea of how much fun the Mondraker is to ride – I normally go out for a drink with my brother on a Thursday night. I’m ducking that so I’m fresh for a ride on Friday afternoon. Yep. Bike before beer. Unheard of!

Problems

There have been some, so worth mentioning.

The Mondraker is supplied with SRAM. On the first ride the rear mech locked out. I was able to sort it and ride home, but High Peak Cycles ordered a new mech and replaced it to ensure it wouldn’t happen again. Hats off to them for the no messing about approach.

The rear Easton wheel developed some loose spokes after the third ride. High Peak spoke to the supplier who said they have no record of issues with this wheel set. It’s a good quality set retailing at around £600 so after rebuilding the wheel I was told to keep an eye on it and report back. I’ve not had a problem since and now include checking spokes as part of my post ride clean and fettle.

The bike has developed a reluctance to switch from the big to small ring on the front. If there is *any* load when you press the shifter then it won’t drop onto the smaller ring. Jamie has fettled it and all appears perfect on the stand, but the issue persists out on the trail. I’m putting it down to the SRAM OE system on the understanding that SRAM is … well … a bit shit. I’ll get my head around it so it’s not an issue but maybe consider a single front ring conversion before the good weather arrives in 2016.

Conclusion

I’m impressed with the Mondraker. Very good spec so I don’t need to throw money at it. You can just get on the bike and ride it. A lot. It has a plush ride with good feedback, makes me look fast downhill and comes into its own climbing. And I like climbing! (Good job living in the Peaks). The teething issues were not/ are not significant and two were sorted straight away by High Peak Cycles at no cost which was great. The only thing I’ve changed is the rear Mavic tyre. I appreciate tyres are a personal thing, but I didn’t like it in the wet mud, so I’ve switched it for a Maxxis High roller II which I rate highly. (I’ve reviewed that separately).

One thought on “Mondraker Dune RR”

Leave a comment