Maxxis Highroller II MTB Tyres

The Mondraker Dune RR was supplied with Mavic tyres. They are a well respected and well reviewed tyre, always getting high marks in tests. Whilst the Peaks were dry and terrain firm they performed well. However, the rear was found wanting once the rain started and was slipping/ spinning whenever I was hitting wet, muddy uphill sections where power was needed. A contributing factor to this may well have been my *cough* riding technique *cough*, but I decided too try a new rear tyre. The Mavics start off with shallow tread patterns on the rear, which soon wear down so I wanted to try a more aggressive tyre.

First picture is the Mondraker with front and rear Mavics. Second pic shows the rear Maxxis Highroller II fitted.

I called into High Peak Cycles and they had a few pairs/ brands of tyres, but I liked the look of the Maxxis High Roller II. Reviews confirmed that like the Mavics the Maxxis tested well – but had much deeper tread.

I decided to leave the front Mavic on as I’d had no issues with that. Tread depth was good and I had plenty of confidence in the tyre even when pushing for grip.

So, rear Highroller fitted and away we went. I’ve now done three rides in the Peaks and two rides in North Wales on the rear Highroller. Compared with the (rear) Mavic the Highroller has been (for me) far superior. One of the biggest tests was a Peaks ride in strong wind and rain. A tough uphill climb riding through some peaty terrain with lots of standing water. With the Mondrakers forward geometry (yes it works really well) it’s easy to keep weight over the back wheel to help traction – and the Highroller maintained it when my riding mate was spinning in the gloopy Peaks mud. I was very impressed. That experience was repeated on some wet slippy climbs in Llandegla where I didn’t give grip a second thought.

On my last Peaks ride I felt the front Mavic slide a couple of times, so I’ll be fitting the front Maxxis Highroller II before my next outing. At that point I’ll update the review. I’m looking forward to that because if the mixed compound front tyre is as good as the rear my confidence and speed should come on a bit.

One thought on “Maxxis Highroller II MTB Tyres”

Leave a comment